Groton Volunteer Fire Department

Emergency Dispatch Phone: 911
Business Phone: 802-584-3855

 About Groton Volunteer Fire Department:


  New Truck as of Spring 2016

Groton Vol. Fire Dept. proudly protects 846 people living in an area of 54 square miles. We operate out of 1 station that protects a primarily residential area. Our department is a public department whose members are on a volunteer status.

We are a rural volunteer department in the southwest corner of the north east kingdom of Vermont. Our service area includes one of the largest state parks in Vermont.

Active Members of the Groton Fire Department

Johnson, Wade, Sr., Fire Chief & Forest Fire Warden
Stetson, Shaun, Assist. Fire Chief
Smith, Brent, President
Knott, Dorothy, Dispatcher, Chief's Clerk, Driver
Knott, Henry- K7
Palmer, Lynne, Treasurer, Auxiliary
Carle, Justin, Asst Forest Fire Warden

Bruleigh, Chub K6, Water Supply Officer


Avery, Dan

Bruleigh, Brenda Secretary
Curtis, Derrick
Doscinski, Leonard
Joy, Carrol

Johnson, Wade, Jr.
Knott, Wayne K3
Lapham, Frank
Lavertu, Scott
Lorenco, Joe
McDonnell, Kevin
Palmer, Phillip K4
Palmer, Tonya
Smith, Aaron K5

Downing, Jim
Lamberton, Gary
Kane, Bill
Powers, Craig

Recruitment information

Our members are certified firefighters and Emergency Medical Technicians.  Money to operate the fire department comes from tax dollars. We operate an engine, a tanker, and a rescue vehicle.

If you are interested in becoming a member of the Groton Volunteer Fire Department please join us at one of our Tuesday night meetings and training sessions.

Prospective members must be:

18 years of age or older (16 for a junior membership)

living or working full-time in the town of Groton

in good standing in the community

If you're interested in helping in any way, we'd like to talk with you.  Additional information can be obtained from Chief Wade Johnson, Sr.